Conservation Commissions

Massachusetts Conservation Commissions were formed under the Conservation Commission Act of 1957 which gives the Commission responsibility for open space and for the protection of other natural resources in their community. The Conservation Commission is responsible for administering the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act and any local wetlands bylaws the community may enact. The above link also describes how a Conservation Commission works.

For notices of what your local Conservation Commission may be hearing at its next meeting see BEAT’s Public Notices page.

For contact information for your local Conservation Commission see the table below.

Adams 1st floor, Town Hall--> 8 Park Street Adams, MA. 01220
7 p.m., when scheduled

(no set schedule)

James Fassel-CC Chair

Susan E. Foster-Admin. Asst.



Town Hall--> 5 Alford Center Road

Alford, MA. 01230-8920

4th Wednesday of the month @ 7:30 p.m.

Henry Flint-CC Chair

528-5818 (home phone)

Paula Moskowitz-Town Clerk



Town Offices--> 557 Main Street

Becket, MA. 01223

3rd Thursday of the month @ 6:30 p.m.
Priscilla McEwen-CC Chair

623-8934 x57

(some office hours on Mondays and Fridays, but no set schedule)

Jeanne Pryor-Town Clerk

623-8934 x11

Mark Webber-CC Chair

743-1690 x18

Town Clerk

743-1690 x22

ClarksburgTown Hall--> 11 River Road Clarksburg, MA. 01247
1st Tuesday of the month @ 6:30 p.m.
Cleve Scott-CC Chair

663-3985 (home phone)

Paula Wells-Commissioner

664-9301 (home phone)

Town Clerk

DaltonTown Hall-->462 Main Street

Dalton, MA. 01226
4th Tuesday of the month @ 7:30 p.m.
Robert W. BIshop, Jr.-CC Chair

Debby Merry-Admin. Asst. to the Town Mgr. & Select Board

684-6111 x11

Town Hall (upstairs)--> 171 Egremont Plain Road, So. Egremont, MA. 01258

2nd & 4th Thursdays of the month @ 7:00 p.m.
David Johnson-CC Chair


Susan Rockefeller-Office Clerk

FloridaTown Hall-->369 Mohawk Trail

Florida, MA. 01343

no regular schedule

Einar "Ole"-CC Chair


Town Clerk

Town Hall-->334 Main Stree,

Great Barrington, MA. 01230
4th Wednesday of the month @ 7:00 p.m.

Elaine Hines Conservation Agent

Office Phone

528-1619 x122


Town Hall-->3650 Hancock Road

P.O. Box 1089

Hancock, MA. 01237

3rd Monday of the month @ 7:30 p.m.
Roger Johnson-Chair

458-3933 (home phone)

Town Clerk

HinsdaleTown Hall-->3 East Main Road

Hinsdale, MA. 01235
2nd Tuesday of the month @ 6:00 p.m.

Mike Frederick - CC Chair
Town Clerk 655-2312

LanesboroughTown Hall-->83 North Main Street Lanesborough, MA. 01237
1st Monday of the month @ 7:30 p.m.
Stacy Chapman-CC Chair

441-4107 (cell)

Town Clerk


Sue Scarpa-Town Clerk

LenoxTown Hall (1st Floor)-->

6 Walker Street

Lenox, MA. 01240
1st & 3rd Thursdays of the month @ 7:30 p.m.
Neal Carpenter-CC Chair

637-3309 (home phone)

Office Phone

MontereyTown Hall-->435 Main Road,

Lenow, MA. 01245
2nd Monday of the month @ 6:00 p.m.
Rick Andrus-CC Chair

Town Clerk

528-1443 x113
Mount WashingtonTown Hall-->118 East Street

Mt. Washington, MA. 01258
1st & 3rd Tuesdays of the month @ 7:30 p.m.
Ben Granskog-CC Chair

528-4099 (home phone)
New AshfordTown Hall-->188 Mallery Road

New Ashford, MA. 01237

New MarlboroughTown Hall-->Mill River Southfield Road, P.O. Box 99

Mill River, MA. 01244
last Monday of the month @ 6:30 p.m.


Town Clerk/Selectman's Office

North AdamsCity Hall

10 Main Street

North Adams, MA 01247
Laura Wood, Conservation Agent


Town Hall-->7 South Main Street

P.O. Box 237

Otis, MA. 01253

3rd Monday of the month @ 6:30 p.m.
Lydia Silva-Conservation Agent

Office Phone

269-0100 x208

Town Clerk

269-0100 x5
PeruTown Hall-->3 East MAin Road

Peru, MA. 01235
1st Monday of the month @ 6:00 p.m.

Richard Harrington-Conservation Commissioner


James Martin - CC Chair

655-2255 (home phone)

Town Hall

655-8312 (Monday 6-8 p.m.)

Pittsfield(See below)

Conservation Office:


RichmondTown Hall-->1529 State Road

Richmond, MA. 01254
2nd Tuesday of the month @ 7:00 p.m.
Holl Stover-CC Chair

Office Phone

SandisfieldTown Hall-->Silverbrook Road

P.O. Box 163

Sandisfield, MA. 01255
Office Phone


Town Clerk

SavoyTown Hall-->720 Main Road

Savoy, MA. 01256
2nd & 4th Monday of the Month @ 7:00 p.m.
Sue Magrath


Town Clerk

SheffieldTown Hall-->21 Depot Street

Sheffield, MA. 01257
2nd & 4th Thursday of the month @ 7:00 p.m.
Town Hall

229-7000 Ext.114
StockbridgeTown Hall-->6 Main Street

P.O. Box 417

Stockbridge, MA. 01262
2nd & 4th Tuesday of the month @ 7:00 p.m.
Sally Underwood-Miller-CC Chair

298-4714 x25
TyringhamTown Hall-->116 Main Road

P.O. Box 442

Tyringham, MA. 01264
Mimi Crandle-Clerk

243-1749 (9 a.m.-1 p.m.. M-Th)
WashingtonTown Hall-->8 Summit Hill Road

Washington, MA. 01223
Allison Mikaniewicz-Clerk

623-8878 (Mondays, 7-9 p.m.)
Town Hall-->9 Main Street

P.O. Box 163

West Stockbridge, MA. 01266

meetings held at:Village School

State Line Road, West Stockbridge

1st and 3rd Thursdays of the month @ 7:00 p.m.

John Masiero CC Co-chair

232-0300 ext. 338

WilliamstownTown Hall-->31 North Street

Williamstown, MA. 01267
2nd & 4th Thurdays of the month @ 7:00 p.m.
Jeffrey C. Kennedy-CC Chair


Mary C. Kennedy-Town Clerk

WindsorTown Hall-->1890 Route 9

Windsor, MA. 01270

Town Clerk

684-3811 (Mondays, 5-7 p.m.)

The Berkshire Conservation Agent Program (BCAP) provides technical assistance and advice to Berkshire County Conservation Commissions and Commissioners.

The Massachusetts Association of Conservation Commissions (MACC) has lots of useful information for Conservation Commissions. MACC has an invasive plant website designed especially for Conservation Commissioners. It provides guidance on permit and project review, restoration, conservation lands management, and provides sample documents from actual projects.


In 2003, BEAT began videotaping and televising the meetings of the Pittsfield Conservation Commission which meets every third Thursday in Pittsfield City Hall. These meetings are now taped and usually shown live by Pittsfield Community Television. You can purchase a DVD of the show or watch the meeting on line at PCTV’s website.

2012 Meeting Schedule

The agenda, which contains more than just the public notices, is available online or at the Pittsfield Conservation Commission office, usually the Friday before the meeting. If you would like to receive the agenda automatically by e-mail please contact the Conservation Clerk. As of June 2010, the minutes of meetings are available on-line as well. The Conservation Office is located on the second floor of City Hall, 70 Allen Street (on the corner with Fenn St.). The phone number is (413) 499-9395. The Pittsfield Conservation Commission meetings are televised, usually live, on Pittsfield Community Television City Link (Channel 18 in Pittsfield, MA).  Check the City Link program schedule. You can also purchase a videotape or DVD of recent meetings from PCTV or watch the meeting online.

The Conservation Clerk, Catherine VanBramer

The Conservation Agent, Robert Van Der Kar

Enter the text or HTML code here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>